cwkennedy

Weekday devotionals for Christians

Daily…Really?

Philippians 3:10-15
(10) That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;
(11) If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.
(12) Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.
(13) Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,
(14) I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.
(15) Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.

I want to address another area in regards to growing, and that is dealing with failures.
Surprisingly most people do not realize it, but failures are a daily occurence.  I hate not succeeding! I would guess that you probably are the same as I am in that area. “I don’t play to lose”, is something that my girls will tell you about me when we play or do something that requires competition. I am a very competitive person. I always try to succeed in everything that I do. I have learned that the average person does not need to have an aggressive drive to succeed in order to enjoy winning. Most people strive for success.
What happens then when we fail or do not succeed at what we start out doing? Well….a lot of things happen, but what I want to address is what needs to happen after we lose or fail. If we first don’t succeed, ……. You know the rest of the statement. We need to try again. While I want to stay away from the self-help advice that usually is void of God and is primarily focused on the sheer determination of man; I want to point out a few thoughts on growing through past failures.
1. God is not surprised when we do not succeed on the first try.
Psalms 103:14
For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.

Praise God! Thank You Jesus! I have found that the average honest individual (there are exceptions to this), is harder on himself than anyone. We always expect to succeed on the first try and when we don’t we experience a lot of negative feelings and a range of frustration. If God is not surprised that we will fail, we need to be understanding of that ourselves as well. If we can do this, we will be able to do things like: encourage others when they fail, encourage ourselves when we fail, and learn from our past mistakes. In my failures, I have learned that the answer to my failure is out there, I just need help in finding that answer.
2. When we fail we should do the following things:
    A. Be teachable and seek the answer to the failure.
    B. Look to the Lord, before I look to man for the answer.
Proverbs 16:1
The preparations of the heart in man, and the answer of the tongue, is from the LORD.
…to be continued tomorrow…

June 29, 2017 - Posted by | Devotional | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. God bless you brother,Praying for all of you. I miss you all.

    Comment by Steven Mosley | July 2, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

