cwkennedy

Weekday devotionals for Christians

Teaching the Teachable

Philippians 3:10-13
(10) That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;
(11) If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.
(12) Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.
(13) Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

3. Always learn from your past.
This is where the main thought for today is going to be. I believe one of the main frustrations in the life of any individual in the regards to personal failure is the inability to learn from your past. While we all have things in our past, including failures, if we learn from the past defeats or failures in our life, we will be able to grow and avoid the failure in the future. One of the reasons why God allows us to fail is for us to learn from our failures. I know that in my life, certain lessons could not be learned from succeeding. I would say that most of the lessons that stand out in my mind came from a failure so bad, I got burned. My body has a few scars on it from when I did not succeed. I have 2 scars on my right arm because I was running will a porcelain bowl that was filled with popcorn. I was 4 years old, and I was running from my mom who wanted some popcorn. It was a fun moment I was having with my mom, until I turned the corner and my foot slipped out from under me and I fell on top of the bowl. The bowl broke into pieces and a few of those pieces went into my arm. I was screaming bloody murder! Oh the pain! Oh the lesson I learned that day! That is probably my earliest memory ….a failure! Isn’t it amazing how we can remember a detailed description when we suffer? I learned that day not to run (especially from mom) when holding a porcelain bowl.
How good are you from learning from past mistakes, failures, and/or defeats? I would say that the ability to go to God and then be teachable enough to learn from your past will directly affect your ability to grow.
2 Peter 3:18
But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and for ever. Amen.

What is hindering you from growing in the Lord? Whatever it is in your life, let me encourage you to remove any hindrances to your growth.

4. Help someone else learn from your mistakes.
Wow, this is not always easy. In order to do this, you must admit you have failed or have been defeated. Some people cannot handle this because their image is most important to them. How sad it is when individuals put their ego, their image, and yes their pride ahead of helping others. I have met many people who fit into that category. I also belong in that category when I allow my pride, ego, and image to get in the way of progress and helping others. We all have our moments of selfishness, but we can fight it and be a help to others.

Helping others learn also helps me learn on a different level. I learned in college a principle in education. That principle is this, “The person that does the work, is the person that does the learning.” This explains why the teacher who studies and prepares for the lesson that they will teach the class is the one who typically knows the most on the subject. When I help someone else learn the vital lessons that I had to learn the hard way, it engrains that lesson into my mind even more. You should try it. Teach someone a vital lesson that really helped you in your life. What starts to happen is growth in your life. Rather than feeling embarrassed, you will feel the gratitude from the heart of your teachable student.
Proverbs 9:9
Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be yet wiser: teach a just man, and he will increase in learning.

 

June 30, 2017 - Posted by | Devotional, Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

