cwkennedy

Weekday devotionals for Christians

I Want It Now!

Mark 10:46-52

(46)  And they came to Jericho: and as he went out of Jericho with his disciples and a great number of people, blind Bartimaeus, the son of Timaeus, sat by the highway side begging.

(47)  And when he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to cry out, and say, Jesus, thou Son of David, have mercy on me.

(48)  And many charged him that he should hold his peace: but he cried the more a great deal, Thou Son of David, have mercy on me.

(49)  And Jesus stood still, and commanded him to be called. And they call the blind man, saying unto him, Be of good comfort, rise; he calleth thee.

(50)  And he, casting away his garment, rose, and came to Jesus.

(51)  And Jesus answered and said unto him, What wilt thou that I should do unto thee? The blind man said unto him, Lord, that I might receive my sight.

(52)  And Jesus said unto him, Go thy way; thy faith hath made thee whole. And immediately he received his sight, and followed Jesus in the way.

Here we have a story of a blind man.  Bartimaeus was his name and he heard that Jesus was in town and was passing by his way.  I want to stop and appreciate the Lord Jesus for a moment.  If you notice in verse 46 that nothing was mentioned about Him being in Jericho.  It only mentions that Jesus entered and exited that town, but what was mentioned is the interaction between Him and Bartimaeus!  Why do I point that out?  I believe that Jesus was coming to someone in need.

That’s right!  Jesus is coming to the rescue!  While I believe that Jesus was passing by Bartimaeus on purpose; Jesus did not go to Bartimaeus.   Bartimaeus had not received an RSVP from Jesus, neither did he call the secretary and set up an appointment with Jesus.  Why do I like this so much!  Let me try to explain below.

I believe that Jesus went out of His way to go to Bartimaeus to heal him.  I also believe that Jesus wanted to test Bartimaeus and see how bad he wanted to be healed.  I have learned in the Bible and in my experience that healing and opportunity comes in many shapes and forms.  In this story, Jesus made Himself available to heal a blind man, but that blind man had to show faith.

Hebrews 11:6

But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

I believe that this verse explains this story well.  Jesus wanted to see his faith and gave blind Baritmaeus a life changing opportunity.  Bartimaeus responded in faith.  His response was action!  He called out to Jesus and did not let anyone stop him from getting to his Lord!  The world we live in trains us to think that God should be knocking down my door to help me.  This is far from the Biblical view point.  We must seek Him.  If we seek Him, He will be found and will reward us for seeking Him.

Matthew 7:7-8

(7)  Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:

(8)  For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.

Let me encourage you not to have a welfare mentality when it comes to God.  God does not need to be the one seeking us.  We need to be the ones seeking God!  We will become victims to the “entitlement mentality” that is plaguing our country.  That mentality leads a person to think that God needs to seek me out, fix my problems, and take away all of my hardship…..and by the way God, make it fast!

What kind of attitude do you have toward the Lord?  Is it an attitude of faith or is it an attitude of entitlement?  Notice that the blind man called out to Jesus when he had the chance.  He was not focused on what he thought the Lord’s duty was to him; he simply called out to Jesus!  I have learned that God will not make it hard for us to come to Him, but He does want to see how determined we are in getting His help.  How determined are you at getting Jesus’ help?  He is near and waits for you to call for help!

 

to be continued…..

August 4, 2017 Posted by | Devotional | , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment