cwkennedy

Weekday devotionals for Christians

Overlooked The Best Things

 

Psa 68:19  Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits, even the God of our salvation. Selah. 

I know, I know, I have used this verse already.  I just can’t stop thinking about how wonderful God really is to me and my family!  No, I did not win the lottery.  No,  I did not receive an expensive gift.  No, I was not given something out of the ordinary.  My day started like it usually does and nothing significant has happened……..except for the fact that I:

1. Did not wake up homeless today.  What a blessing it is to wake up in a warm bed with a roof over my head!  My roof is not leaking, that I know of, and my house stayed dry in the rain storm that we were in.

2. I woke up next to my wife.  A lot of men can say that this morning.  A lot of heart-ache has happened to a lot of good people.  I am sorry that others cannot  say that they woke up next to their spouse, but if you did, you are blessed!

3. I helped my children get ready for school today.  I have two wonderful, beautiful, funny, exciting, energetic, and loving little girls.  They, next to my wife, are my best buddies!  I got to spend my morning with them today!  I know that a lot of soldiers did not have that privilege that I had this morning!  Thank God for our faithful, dedicated, hard-working, and sacrificial soldiers who were not able to spend their morning with their little ones!!

4. I got in my car with a hot cup of coffee and went to work!  A lot of people are out there looking for jobs, wishing that they had work to go and do!  I did not have to worry about my car breaking down (I drive a Chevy, it is 15 years old and it was made before they got rescued by BIG BROTHER) due to running out of gas or any mechanical failure.

5. I get to do what I love to do!  WHAT AN AWESOME BLESSING!  I get to do what I love to do, and that is to work full time for Christ!  It is the highest honor and most humbling honor that I have ever experienced.

I listed these above things to say that our lives are full of daily blessings that we  often overlook.  I am guilty of overlooking and taking for granted the daily benefits that God gives me!

Bro. CW’s Challenge:

Make a list of blessings today.  List the everyday, common things that happen and sit back and thank God for allow you to receive and experience those benefits!

 

December 6, 2011 - Posted by | Devotional | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment